From: Todd B
To: Steve P
Sent: 1/24/04
Subject: SP78 Poser

Hey!

Here’s another one of those frustrating save questions, from today’s playing of Game #1129: pitcher Dave Geisel, called up to the Cubs a while back from Wichita, enters a Cubs-Mets game in the 7th inning, with Chicago leading 8-2. He pitches the final three innings, which according to the rules is good for a save — if he pitches, of course, effectively. So, in those three innings, he gave up a infield single in the seventh, had a perfect eighth, then in the ninth, with two outs, he gave up another infield single, then an HR to Lee Mazzilli before getting the third out.

Now, in your 1978 opinion, would this be considered an effective outing? I’m thinking yes, but I will defer to your imperious judgement in this instance. That is, if you choose to offer judgement  in this instance…

Thanks!

Todd Benefiel
SP78 Department of Statistics, Peoria, AZ

From: Steve P
To: Todd B
Sent: 1/24/04 4:45:52 pm
Subject: Re: SP78 Poser

Give the man a save, I mean, it’s not like he’s going to the Hall of Statis Pro Fame!

Just my opinion…

Steve
SOC Creator and Destroyer, San Marcos, CA

Advertisements

Report to the Commissioner

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s