Reds Celebrate 40th Anniversary, Top Bucs 5-1

1976-world-series-logoThe Reds opened the August 14th slate of games with a 5-1 victory over the Pirates at Three Rivers Stadium in Pittsburgh, in a game played on the 40th anniversary of their Game 4 win over the Yankees in the 1976 World Series. A George Foster home run and a 2-run double from Johnny Bench paved the way offensively for Reds starter Paul Moskau, who allowed just five hits in winning his tenth game of the season.

The game was played at a new SP78 site, SD9 in the Scripps Ranch area of San Diego, where my friend Durand recently moved, and where I’m staying while I’m out there to attend his wedding. The game was also part of another first: the first ever played on a bed! To avoid any trouble from Durand’s pair of inquisitive cats, I played the game in the guest bedroom, with the doors closed, and the bed seemed the most logical location for placement of the board.

Later today I’ll watch a condensed replay I have of that Series-winning Game 4, that I’d recorded off ESPN Classic several years ago. And tonight I’ll celebrate the Reds win with a post-rehearsal dinner at Miguel’s Cocina in Old Town.

6 responses to “Reds Celebrate 40th Anniversary, Top Bucs 5-1

  1. grandrapidsgirl

    This is AWESOME!!! Be sure to get a pic of the cats please. 🙂

  2. Had to actually look up the sweep as it seemed hard to believe against the Yankees, with such all stars as Munson, Nettles and Catfish Hunting! Where would you consider the 76 Reds to be ranked in the top 10 teams to reach the World Series?

    • I’d say that Reds team would be ranked in the Top 3 of all time, along with the 1927 Yankees – who they always seem to be compared to – and a mystery team that perhaps I’m forgetting about, that I’ll leave a third spot open for. The Reds also swept the Phillies 3-0 in the playoffs that year, and are the last NL team to win back-to-back World Series, so yeah, they were pretty dang good. And one question: Is Catfish Hunting the father of Will Hunting, who they made that movie about starring Matt Damon?

  3. Nope, I think he is the father of Steve Trout. By the way, with the Reds sweep of the Phillies how long did Reid weep?

    • And grandfather of Tim Salmon? And did I even know Reid back then? And was he even a Phillies fan before I knew him? You and I met in 6th grade, which would’ve been 1974-75, but I don’t think I became friends with Reid ’til 1977…in which case he would’ve wept when the Phillies lost to the Dodgers in the ’77 NLCS. And then again in the ’78 NLCS.

Report to the Commissioner

