Stat Night

Stat Night - photo
Just another evening spent working on statistics at the living room table, where for the past several months I’ve been compiling stats for every SP78 game played in June: as the photo above shows, I’m currently at work on Game #777, a June 12th match-up between the Mets and Padres at San Diego Stadium. From here, I have just 235 scoresheets to pore over before I wrap-up the month, and can begin adding the numbers to the blog site.

And after that, I’ll make some minor additions to every team’s July statistics (which are, for the most part, already completed), and when I factor in the current August stats, I’ll be caught up with the season’s stats for the first time since I finished playing the last of the April games back in 1988. Thank heavens I have no social life, or I’d never have time to get any of this done.

8 responses to “Stat Night

  1. It’s official. You’re bananas! Wishing you all the best with your stats and scoresheets!!!

  2. Hey, was hanging with Brent and I chopped liver?

  3. Wow! I’ve actually been to Watt Powell Park (1975) to see the Charlies play and the chances of talking to someone who even knows the name is really slim. I’ve had the fortune in my 59 years to move around a lot and Watt Powell Park is right there with the 1/4 mile track at Raceway Park in Posen, Ill. as being the ricketiest venue I ever been at.

    • That’s cool that you saw a Charlies game there! I just now looked up some photos of Watt Powell Park on-line, and though it looks like a cozy little place to see a game, it does look a little rickety, too. My friend and I went on a minor league baseball tour in New England this past summer, and saw a couple of ballparks similar to Watt Powell; one of them was over a hundred years old. Sadly, it looks like Watt Powell Park was demolished in 2005, and some sort of medical facility was built on the site.

Report to the Commissioner

